Branches:

Russian Empire Style. Applied Art of the Epoch of Alexander I (1801–1825)

Russian Empire Style. Applied Art of the Epoch of Alexander I (1801–1825)
Permanent exhibition

Empire style managed to reflect the art foundations of «Alexander’s times» brightly and consistently: its items, which differ in their sizes, materials and aims, form an extraordinary stylistic unity.

Imperial Porcelain and Glass factories, which employed high-class artists and craftsmen, conducted and promoted Empire style. The factory libraries had plenty of drawings and engravings used while decorating one or another object. Symbols, allegories and antique ornaments harmonized with patriotic inscriptions and portraits of prominent contemporaries.

Objects, dating from this time, place emphasis on strict outlines and, despite being of relatively small size, get a monumentality shade. For example, the walls of glass vessels were made thicker than usual and then finished in deep brilliant-cut which resembled of real gem-cutting (this is where the term «brilliant-cut» stems from). To make this kind of glass more transparent, litharge, providing especial clarity, was put into the glass mass. As the material finally resembled of rock crystal, its name was dedicated to it.

Empire style improved the image of porcelain objects, too. Quite often they were gilded inside and outside to be associated with bronze. At the same time, as never before, the production of monumental vases increased, which became one of the peculiarities of Russian Empire style.

Exhibitions
Boris Lurie. American Nonconformist

Boris Lurie. American Nonconformist

29 august—11 november 2019

Leningrad-born survivor of Nazi concentration camps, member of New York avant-garde scene of the 1950s and 1960s, Boris Lurie touches upon the most sensitive, problematic and hot issues, such as consumer society, Nazi crimes against humanity, and the reflection of sexuality in mass consciousness.

Tickets

The St. Petersburg Governorate in photographs from the 1860‒1910s from the collection of the Russian Museum

The St. Petersburg Governorate in photographs from the 1860‒1910s from the collection of the Russian Museum

30 may—19 august 2019

From the series “Traveling around Russian Empire”. The exhibition presents the image of St. Petersburg Governorate in professional and amateur photographs, as well as postcards depicting the man-made and natural sights of the area, the local population and the events of everyday life.

Also in the Russian Museum
The Russian Museum recommends
Collection highlights
Collection highlights

The collection of masterpieces, chosen by the Russian Museum will allow you to make a first impression of the collection of the Russian Museum.

Start

Virtual tours
Virtual tours

Russian Museum - one of the world's largest museums and is perhaps the only country where such a full treasure of national culture are presented.
Virtual tour of the museum complex. 2009 (Rus., Eng., Ger., Fin.)

Details

Online Shop
Online Shop

In the online shop of the Russian Museum presented a huge range of souvenirs, illustrated editions and multimedia disks.

Go to store

Mobile Apps
Mobile Apps

Google PlayApp Store

Details

ENG
Филиалы:

Русский ампир. Декоративно-прикладное искусство времени царствования императора Александра I (1801–1825)

Русский ампир. Декоративно-прикладное искусство времени царствования императора Александра I (1801–1825)
Постоянная экспозиция

Художественные принципы искусства «александровской поры» ярко и последовательно отразил ампир (или имперский стиль): различные по назначению, материалам и размерам изделия образуют удивительное стилистическое единство.

Проводниками и популяризаторами ампира были Императорские фарфоровый и стекольный заводы, где трудились первоклассные художники и мастера-исполнители. В заводских библиотеках хранилось большое количество рисунков и гравюр, которые использовались при декорировке того или иного предмета. Аллегории и символы, античная орнаментика сочетались с патриотическими надписями и портретами выдающихся современников.

Предметы этого времени приобретают подчеркнуто строгие очертания и, несмотря на небольшие размеры, оттенок монументальности. Так стенки стеклянных сосудов делались толще обычного и обрабатывались глубокой алмазной гранью. Рисунок алмазной резьбы напоминал огранку драгоценных камней. Отсюда термин «алмазная грань». Для того, чтобы подобное стекло лучше пропускало свет, в его состав вводили окись свинца, который придавал материалу особую чистоту и прозрачность. По сходству с горным минералом подобное стекло стали называть хрусталём.

Ампир скорректировал и облик изделий из фарфора. Посуду нередко изнутри и снаружи золотили, уподобляя хрупкий материал бронзе. В тоже время, как никогда ранее, увеличился выпуск монументальных ваз, ставших одним из характерных символов русского ампира.

Выставки
Борис Лурье. Американский нонконформист

Борис Лурье. Американский нонконформист

29 августа—11 ноября 2019

Уроженец Ленинграда, узник Бухенвальда, представитель нью-йоркского авангарда 1950-х — 1960-х, со-основатель движения NO!art, Борис Лурье нащупывает болевые точки современности: от преступлений против человечества до отражения сексуальности в массовом сознании.

Заказать билеты

Санкт-Петербургская губерния в фотографиях 1860‒1910-х годов  из собрания Русского музея. Из цикла «Путешествия по Российской империи»

Санкт-Петербургская губерния в фотографиях 1860‒1910-х годов из собрания Русского музея. Из цикла «Путешествия по Российской империи»

30 мая—19 августа 2019

Выставка представляет образ Санкт-Петербургской губернии в профессиональных и любительских фотоснимках, а также почтовых открытках, запечатлевших рукотворные и природные достопримечательности местности, губернское население и события повседневной жизни.

Также в Русском музее
Русский музей рекомендует
Шедевры коллекции
Шедевры коллекции

Сборник шедевров, отобранный искусствоведами Русского музея, позволит вам составить первое впечатление о коллекции Русского музея.

Начать просмотр

Виртуальные прогулки
Виртуальные прогулки

Виртуальный тур по музейному комплексу, созданный в технологии панорамной съемки, знакомит с экспозицией, интерьерами и внешним обликом дворцов и садов Русского музея.
Виртуальный тур по музейному комплексу. Старая версия виртуального тура (рус., англ., нем., фин.).

Подробнее

Портал КУЛЬТУРА.РФ
Портал КУЛЬТУРА.РФ

Гуманитарный просветительский проект, посвященный культуре России. Рассказывает о событиях и людях в истории литературы, архитектуры, музыки, кино, театра, а также о народных традициях и памятниках природы.

Перейти на сайт

Мобильные приложения
Мобильные приложения

Google PlayApp Store

Подробнее