Branches:
Artists of the Society of Russian Sculptors
St Michael’s Castle

Artists of the Society of Russian Sculptors

10 august—20 november 2017

The artists' union “Society of Russian Sculptors” (ORS – Obschestvo Russkih Skulptorov) was created in 1925 in the course of revolutionary ev...

Tickets

Art into Life. 1918–1925
Benois Wing

Art into Life. 1918–1925

17 august—20 november 2017

The exhibition will present the propaganda art of the first years after the 1917 Revolution. The agitation art of this time was truly mass and embracing different aspects o...

Tickets

Children of the Soviet State
Marble Palace

Children of the Soviet State

7 september—20 november 2017

The works by painters, graphic artists, sculptors and masters of the applied arts, created in 1920-1980-s, provide a vivid image of the Soviet State smallest citizens’ ...

Tickets

Posters of the Revolutionary Era
Marble Palace

Posters of the Revolutionary Era

13 september—6 november 2017

The genre of political poster in the Russian art formed and developed in the first years after the Revolution of 1917. The exhibition at the Marble palace dedicated...

Tickets

Dreams of Universal Flowering
Benois Wing

Dreams of Universal Flowering

14 september—20 november 2017

The exhibition at the Russian Museum is aimed to present for the first time the complicated and multifaceted situation of the first decades of XX century. The exhibiti...

Tickets

Andrei Tarkovsky. Artist of Space
Stroganov Palace

Andrei Tarkovsky. Artist of Space

20 september—20 november 2017

The exhibition is dedicated to the 85th anniversary of Andrei Tarkovsky (1932–1986), famous Russian filmmaker and film director. A renowned master of cinem...

Tickets

Opening hours
The Summer Garden

Monday 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Mikhailovsky Palace, Benois Wing are open until 8:p.m.
Tuesday The Museum is closed
Wednesday 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Thursday 1:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Friday 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Ticket offices close 30 minutes earlier

Getting here

loading map...

Санкт-Петербург. Инженерная ул., 4.

Метро: «Невский проспект», «Гостиный двор», «Чернышевская»

History

Summer Garden is the apple of Peter I’s eye, a gem in the necklace of Saint-Petersburg parks. In 1704 Peter I ordered to set up for him a big garden alike the famous European ones of the time and even sketched its original plan. Russian and foreign architects worked on this project: I.Matveev, D.Trezini, J.-B.Le Blond, A.Sсhluter, М.Zemtsov, F.-B.Rastrelli, landscape designers J.Roosen, I.Surmin, К.Schreder, I.Yakovlev, P.Lukianov and other. Already several years after its foundation Summer Garden became the political and state life center, the spot of court ceremonies and festivals.

The first official layout of the garden was designed by the Dutch gardener Jan Roosen in 1713-1714. In 1717 Tsar Peter himself made some amendments to the plan of the future Summer Garden and later closely monitored the work, taking notice of the minor details.

The layout of the garden is quite simple: there are three parallel straight alleys going from the Neva, crossed by several perpendicular ones. The garden’s natural borders on the northern and eastern sides are the Neva and the Fontanka rivers. On the western and southern sides the garden is bordered by two artificially dug canals — the Swan Canal and a canal connecting the Fontanka with the head of the Moika river. The northern part of the garden adjoining the palace and designed in a more formal way was called the First Summer Garden. The southern part, apart from decorative elements, comprised outbuildings and an orchard, and was called the Second Summer Garden. The two gardens were separated by the Perpendicular Canal which was, however, not connected to the Fontanka river.

In accordance with the laws of fine gardening, the alleys of the Summer Garden were lined by evenly pruned shrubs, a kind of natural green hedge. Four areas surrounded by hedges — the so-called boskets — comprised various decorative elements. The “Menagery pond” bosket comprised an oval pond with a small island and a gazebo upon it. Another bosket had an Aviary with dovecotes and other small structures for birds. The “Cross Walking Ground” bosket had intersecting winding paths — tunnel-shaped alleys, whose vaults were formed by tree branches covering the specially built frames. In the middle of the intersection was a single-jet fountain decorated with a sculpture. The most elegant bosket was the “French Parterre” with its gilt sculptures, a cascade and a flower garden. The alleys of the First Summer garden were decorated with Italian marble sculptures and busts. There were fountains at the intersections of the central alley with the side alleys.

The Grotto was erected on the bank of the Fontanka river. It was the first structure of this kind in Russia, designed in 1714-1725 by architects A. Schluter, G.-I. Mattarnovi, N. Michetti, and M. Zemtsov. The walls inside the grotto were covered with seashells and pieces of tuff.

A person entering the Grotto found themselves in the magical kingdom of the Sea God, lit up by the rays of sun penetrating through the small skylight. Triton fountains were reflected in big mirrors in the niches. Neptune’s gilt chariot towered up from the top of the mountain made of stones and seashells, and a lion was trapped in a cave under the mountain. (In the Peter I’s time Neptune was symbolic of Peter and the lion symbolized Sweden).

A large part of the Second Summer Garden was occupied by the Labyrinth. Its paths were decorated with gilt lead sculptural groups representing characters from Aesop’s fables.

Another large part of the garden was occupied by different structures. Peter I’s Summer Palace was in the north-eastern corner of the garden (designed by architect D. Trezzini in 1710-1712). In the north-western corner, located symmetrically to Peter I’s Summer Palace, by the Neva and the Swan Canal, was the Second Summer Palace. It was built in 172-1726 by S. Van-Zwieten, D. Trezzini and M. Zemtsov for Peer’s wife Ekaterina Alexeevna.

Adjoining this palace was an art gallery (architect F. de Vaal), accommodating the collection of works by prominent European artists. The first art gallery was a novelty in Russian cultural life. Unfortunately, neither of the two structures survived.

On the bank of the Neva there were galleries in which tables were laid and dancing organized on special occasions. Later “The hall of glorious celebrations” was added, erected by a talented Russian architect M. Zemtsov for the wedding celebration of Peter I’s daughter Anna and the Duke of Goldstein. In the 1730s the hall was replaced by a wooden palace constructed by F.-B. Rastrelli for Empress Anna Ioannovna.

By the reign of Empress Elizaveta Petrovna the trees had grown stronger and the fountains were duly operating. Designed by Rastrelli, flowerbeds of intricate geometric shapes were put again along the Swan Canal opposite the facade of the Second Summer Palace. From the south the flower garden was bordered by the Amphitheatre — a cascade decorated with sculptural busts of Roman emperors (architect Rastrelli). The focus of subsequent construction works was moved over the Moika, to the Third Summer garden (today’s Mikhailovsky Garden and the garden surrounding Mikhailovsky Castle). There the new Summer Palace of Empress Elizaveta was constructed in the 1740s by architect Rastrelli.

The Golden Age of the Summer Garden — the second half of the XVIII century — eventually passed. Landscape parks became popular in Europe, while old regular parks went out of fashion. Another misfortune in the garden’s history was the destructive inundation of 1777, which badly damaged the plants, statues and fountains. Catherine II ordered replanting of the trees and flowers but the fountains were dismantled. By the beginning of the XIX century the garden lost many of its sculptures and all of the old entertaining structures. Only Peter’s Summer Palace and the dilapidated Grotto were still preserved. On the other hand, it was in Catherine II’s time that the Summer garden received a new decoration — the magnificent railing from the Neva side (architect Felten, 1770-1784).

From the day of Empress Catherine II’s decree to build the railing in 1770 it took 16 years to complete the work. The project was amended numerous times. There are more than a dozen sketches reflecting different stages of construction. Putting in piles and laying the foundation started in 1775. The plinth, the columns and the vases on top of them were made of “wild stone”, as red granite from the quarries of Vyborg was called in the XVIII century. Elements of the railing and the gates were cast in iron in the town of Tula. The solemn railing is decorated with gilt bronze ornaments.

Segments of the railing are fixed on 36 poles. The length of the structure is 232 metres. Originally the railing had three gates located opposite the main alleys of the garden. The central gate had a different design. In 1866 the railing became a witness of a historic event — an attempt on Emperor Alexander II’s life. To commemorate the Tsar’s narrow escape from death a chapel was erected on the site of the central gate. The side gates were transferred and put on both sides of the chapel. This distorted the historic face of the gate, which became particularly obvious after the chapel was dismantled in 1930.

In the XIX century the Summer Garden became a favourite walking place of the city residents. It evolved into a public garden “for a well dressed audience”. A lot of maintenance work was done by order of Emperor Nicholas I. In 1826 the remnants of the Grotto were replaced by the Coffee Pavilion designed by architect C. Rossi. In 1827 a wooden Tea Pavilion was built nearby (architect L. Charleman). A cast iron railing was put up on the Moika side of the garden (architects P. Bazen and L. Charleman, 1826). In 1839 a porphiry vase was installed by the southern gate. The vase was a gift of the Swedish King Carl-Johann XIV to Nicholas I. It was made in the Swedish town of Elfdalen and is known as the Elfdalen vase. In 1855 a monument to I.A. Krylov, designed by sculptor P. Klodt, was erected in one of the sections of the garden. It was the first monument to the prominent writer in Russia.

In 1917 the Summer Garden last its “imperial” status.

During the flood of 1924 about 600 trees perished, many statues and busts fell down and were damaged.

From 1934 restoration of the garden was supervised by the directors of the Summer Garden and Peter I’s Palace’ museum complex.

In the first two months of the Great Patriotic War statues and busts were buried underground. An anti-aircraft battery was located in the garden. After the war the Summer Garden was completely restored. The statues and the busts resumed their original place.

In 2009-2011 the garden underwent complex restoration.

The Russian Museum recommends
Collection highlights
Collection highlights

The collection of masterpieces, chosen by the Russian Museum will allow you to make a first impression of the collection of the Russian Museum.

Start

Virtual tours
Virtual tours

Russian Museum - one of the world's largest museums and is perhaps the only country where such a full treasure of national culture are presented.
Virtual tour of the museum complex. 2009 (Rus., Eng., Ger., Fin.)

Details

Online Shop
Online Shop

In the online shop of the Russian Museum presented a huge range of souvenirs, illustrated editions and multimedia disks.

Go to store

Mobile Apps
Mobile Apps

Google PlayApp Store

Details

ENG
Филиалы:
Копейка рубль бережет
Строгановский дворец

Копейка рубль бережет

1 марта—15 мая 2017

На выставке, охватывающей период с петровского времени до 1917 года, экспонируются государственные платежные знаки России (монеты и бумажные деньги), а также ценные ...

Виктор Борисов-Мусатов и мастера общества "Голубая роза"
Михайловский замок

Виктор Борисов-Мусатов и мастера общества "Голубая роза"

2 марта—19 июня 2017

Выставка представляет творчество В.Э.Борисова-Мусатова (1870–1905)  – одного из ведущих мастеров русского символ...

Заказать билеты

Марчелло Ло Джудиче
Мраморный дворец

Марчелло Ло Джудиче

2 марта—15 мая 2017

Ло Джудиче  как художник, развивающийся  в русле абстракции, обращается к образным средствам, вызывающим ассоциации с геологическими процессами. Он предпо...

Георгий Верейский
Михайловский замок

Георгий Верейский

30 марта—15 мая 2017

Выставка впервые столь широко и полно представит творческое наследие Г.С. Верейского (1886 – 1962) – одного из классиков советской графики, продолжателя традиций обществ...

Структуры
Мраморный дворец

Структуры

6 апреля—30 июня 2017

Проект, включающий произведения в хронологическом диапазоне от 1960-х  годов до  настоящего времени, обращен к понятию структуры  (лат. – строение, упо...

Заказать билеты

Василий Васильевич Верещагин. К 175-летию со дня рождения
Корпус Бенуа

Василий Васильевич Верещагин. К 175-летию со дня рождения

20 апреля—24 июля 2017

Выставка, посвященная 175-летию со дня рождения всемирно известного русского художника-баталиста Василия Васильевича Верещагина, представит...

Заказать билеты

Романтический наш император
Павильоны Михайловского замка

Романтический наш император

24 апреля—31 декабря 2017

Высокотехнологичная интерактивная экспозиция «Романтический наш император», расположенная на трех этажах Западного павильона Михайловского замка, посвящена автору и вл...

Заказать билеты

Часы работы музея
Летний сад

На информационной стойке вы можете узнать о режиме работы музея, временных выставках, мероприятиях, лекциях, занятиях и концертах, проходящих в Русском музее.

Понедельник 10:00—18:00
Михайловский дворец и корпус Бенуа работают до 20.00
Вторник Выходной день
Среда 10:00—18:00
Четверг 13:00—21:00
Пятница 10:00—18:00
Суббота 10:00—18:00
Воскресенье 10:00—18:00

Кассы закрываются на полчаса раньше.

Летний дворец Петра I находится на реставрации.
Как добраться

загрузка карты...

Санкт-Петербург, Летний сад, Литер А

Метро: «Невский проспект», «Гостиный двор», «Чернышевская»

История

Летний сад — любимое детище Петра I, жемчужина в парковом ожерелье Петербурга.

В 1704 году Петр I приказал разбить для себя большой сад, подобный прославленным западноевропейским паркам того времени, и сам наметил его первоначальный план. Над осуществлением проекта работали русские и иностранные архитекторы и садовники: И.Матвеев, Д.Трезини, Ж.-Б.Леблон, А.Шлютер, М.Земцов, Ф.-Б.Растрелли, садовники Я.Роозен, И.Сурьмин, К.Шредер, И.Яковлев, П.Лукьянов и другие. Уже через несколько лет своего существования Летний сад стал центром политической и официальной жизни, придворных церемониалов и торжеств.

Первый профессионально выполненный проект сада принадлежит голландскому садовнику Яну Роозену (1713-1714 гг.). В 1717 г. царь Петр собственной рукой внес исправления в план будущего Летнего сада и впоследствии тщательно следил за его обустройством, вникая во все хозяйственные мелочи.

Планировка сада проста: от Невы вглубь территории ведут три параллельно расположенные прямые аллеи, их пересекают несколько перпендикулярных. Естественной границей сада с севера и востока стали реки Нева и Фонтанка. На западе и на юге сад ограничен искусственными протоками — Лебяжьей канавкой и каналом, соединившим Фонтанку с истоком реки Мойки. Северная часть сада, примыкающая к дворцу и более парадно обустроенная, носила название Первого Летнего сада. Южная часть, в которой наряду с садовыми затеями находились хозяйственные постройки и фруктовый сад, именовалась Вторым Летним садом. Их разделял Поперечный канал, не соединявшийся, однако, с Фонтанкой.

В соответствии с правилами изящного садоводства, аллеи Летнего сада были сплошь обсажены ровно подстриженным кустарником — своеобразными зелеными стенами, так называемыми шпалерами. Четыре участка, ограниченные стенами шпалер, — боскеты, были заняты разнообразными садовыми затеями. В боскете «Менажерийный пруд» находился овальный пруд, в центре которого располагался островок с беседкой; в другом боскете помещался «Птичий двор» с голубятней и домиками для птиц. Боскет «Крестовое гульбище» пересекали шедшие крест-накрест огибные дороги — аллеи-туннели, сводами которых служили оплетающие каркас ветви деревьев. В центре журчал одноструйный фонтан, украшенный скульптурой. Самым нарядным был боскет «Французский партер» с позолоченной скульптурой, каскадом и цветником. Аллеи Первого Летнего сада украшали привезенные из Италии мраморные статуи и бюсты. На пересечении центральной аллеи с боковыми аллеями били фонтаны.

На берегу Фонтанки был выстроен Грот — первая садовая постройка такого рода в России (1714-1725 гг., арх. А.Шлютер, Г.-И.Маттарнови, Н.Микетти, М.Земцов). Внутри его стены были выложены раковинами и кусками туфа.

Входящего в Грот встречало таинственное царство морского бога, освещенное проникающими сквозь световой фонарик лучами солнца. Отражаясь в больших зеркалах ниш, журчали фонтаны Тритонов... Позолоченная колесница Нептуна возвышалась на горе, возведенной из различных камней и раковин, в пещере под горой томился лев (в символике петровского времени Нептун олицетворял Петра I, а лев — Швецию).

Большой участок Второго Летнего сада занимал Лабиринт, на дорожках которого были поставлены фонтаны со свинцовыми позолоченными скульптурными группами на сюжеты эзоповых басен.

Значительную часть сада занимали постройки. В северо-восточном углу сада находился Летний дворец Петра I (1710-1712 гг., арх. Д.Трезини). В северо-западном углу, у Невы и Лебяжьей канавки, симметрично Летнему дворцу Петра I был построен Второй Летний дворец со службами (1721-1726 гг., арх. С.Ван-Звитен, Д.Трезини, М.Земцов) для жены Петра Екатерины Алексеевны.

К этому дворцу примыкало здание картинной галереи (арх. Ф. де Вааль), в которой находилось собрание произведений выдающихся европейских художников. Первая художественная галерея явилась новшеством в культурной жизни России. К сожалению, обе постройки не дошли до наших дней.

На берегу Невы находились галереи, в которых во время торжеств накрывали столы и устраивали танцы. Позднее к ним добавилась «Зала для славных торжествований», возведенная по проекту талантливого русского архитектора М.Земцова для празднования свадьбы дочери Петра I Анны с герцогом голштинским. В 1730-х гг. на месте этой Залы на берегу Невы Ф.-Б.Растрелли построил для императрицы Анны Иоанновны деревянный дворец.

Ко времени правления императрицы Елизаветы Петровны деревья подросли и окрепли, исправно действовали фонтаны. По проекту Ф.-Б.Растрелли были заново разбиты цветники сложного геометрического рисунка — партеры, располагавшиеся вдоль Лебяжьей канавки напротив фасада Второго Летнего дворца. С юга партерный участок замыкался Амфитеатром — каскадом, украшенным скульптурными бюстами римских императоров (арх. Ф.-Б. Растрелли). Основное строительство переместилось в то время за Мойку, на территорию Третьего Летнего сада (современный Михайловский сад и сад вокруг Михайловского замка). Здесь в 1740-е гг. Ф.-Б.Растрелли построил новый Летний дворец Елизаветы.

Расцвет Летнего сада, приходившийся на вторую половину XVIII в., постепенно отошел в прошлое. Европа увлеклась пейзажными парками, старые регулярные сады вышли из моды. Судьбу Летнего сада усугубило разрушительное наводнение 1777 г., от которого сильно пострадали посадки, статуи, фонтаны. Екатерина II приказала посадки восстановить, а фонтаны разобрать. К началу XIX в. сад лишился многих статуй, всех старинных затей и увеселительных сооружений. Из прежних построек оставался лишь петровский Летний дворец и обветшавший Грот. В то же время, в эпоху Екатерины II Летний сад получил новое украшение — великолепную ограду со стороны Невы (арх. Ю.Фельтен, 1770-1784 гг.). От именного указа императрицы Екатерины II о сооружении ограды, последовавшего в 1770 г., до полного завершения работ прошло 16 лет. Проект неоднократно перерабатывался. Сохранилось более десятка чертежей, отразивших этапы этой работы. В 1775 г. приступили к забивке свай и устройству фундамента. Цоколь ограды, колонны и венчающие их вазы были высечены из «дикого камня» — так в XVIII в. называли красный гранит выборгских месторождений. Звенья ограды и ворота выковали из железа в Туле. Бронзовые золоченые украшения оживляют строгий облик решетки Летнего сада.

Звенья ограды укреплены на 36 столбах. Общая длина сооружения — 232 метра. Первоначально в ограде было трое ворот, находившихся против главных аллей сада. Центральные ворота имели отличное от боковых завершение. В 1866 г. ограда стала немой свидетельницей исторического события — покушения на императора Александра II. В память избавления государя от смертельной опасности на месте центральных ворот была построена часовня. Боковые ворота перенесли и поставили по сторонам часовни. Исторический вид ограды оказался искаженным. Особенно заметно это стало после того, как в 1930 г. часовню разобрали.

В XIX в. Летний сад становится любимым местом прогулок горожан. Он продолжает развиваться уже в качестве публичного городского сада «для прилично одетой публики». По указанию императора Николая I в саду проводятся большие работы. В 1826 г. остатки Грота перестраиваются архитектором К.Росси под кофейню (Кофейный домик). В 1827 г. неподалеку возводится деревянный Чайный домик (арх. Л.Шарлемань). Со стороны Мойки сад обносят чугунной оградой (арх. П.Базен, Л.Шарлемань, 1826 г.). В 1839 г. у южных ворот сада была поставлена ваза из порфира — подарок Николаю I от шведского короля Карла-Иоганна XIV. Ваза была изготовлена в городе Эльфдален (Швеция) и носит название Эльфдаленская. В 1855 г. на одной из площадок сада установили памятник И. А. Крылову, созданный скульптором П.Клодтом. Это был первый в России памятник литератору.

В 1917 г. Летний сад потерял статус «императорского».

В наводнение 1924 г. в саду погибло до 600 деревьев, были опрокинуты и повреждены статуи и бюсты. С 1934 г. восстановлением сада занималась дирекция Летнего сада и Дворца-музея Петра I.

В начале Великой Отечественной войны в течение двух месяцев статуи и бюсты укрыли в земле. В саду была расположена зенитная батарея. После войны Летний сад был полностью восстановлен. Статуи и бюсты вернулись на свои места.

В 2009-2011 гг. сад прошел комплексную реставрацию.

О Летнем саде на сайте САДЫ РУССКОГО МУЗЕЯ

Русский музей рекомендует
Шедевры коллекции
Шедевры коллекции

Сборник шедевров, отобранный искусствоведами Русского музея, позволит вам составить первое впечатление о коллекции Русского музея.

Начать просмотр

Виртуальные прогулки
Виртуальные прогулки

Виртуальный тур по музейному комплексу, созданный в технологии панорамной съемки, знакомит с экспозицией, интерьерами и внешним обликом дворцов и садов Русского музея.
Виртуальный тур по музейному комплексу. Старая версия виртуального тура (рус., англ., нем., фин.).

Подробнее

Интернет магазин
Интернет магазин

В интернет магазине Русского музея представлен огромный ассортимент сувенирной продукции, иллюстрированные издания и мультимедиа диски.

Перейти к магазину

Мобильные приложения
Мобильные приложения

Google PlayApp Store

Подробнее